The official website for Mohun Bagan Athletic Club.

The National Club of India

Keep up-to-date with all the news from the Mariners camp.

McDowell Mohun Bagan wins J. C. Mukherjee 20/20 Trophy

30-Dec, 2011
Kolkata , 10-Jun, 2011 :

McDowell Mohun Bagan won the J.C. Mukherjee trophy beating East Bengal by 20 runs at the Eden Gardens today. Earlier, a week ago, they had beaten East Bengal in the semi final of A. N. Ghosh Trophy.
Today in the final, Mohun Bagan batted first and notched up 178/2 in their 20 overs and then restricted East Bengal to 158/6. For Mohun Bagan, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala top scored with 86 not out off 50 balls. His innings consisted of 9 boundaries and 3 huge over boundaries. Subhomoy Das and Debabrata Das provided useful contributions of 37 each. Debabrata Das remained not out along with Abhishek. Amongst the MB bowlers, Md. Sami took 2/19 and Sultan Ahmed took 2/29.

This is Mohun Bagan's 2nd trophy of the season, they had won A. N. Ghosh Trophy by defeating BNR.

Meanwhile, Mohun Bagan will play against Kalighat in the semi final of CAB Knock Out Tournament, the likely date of this match is June 14.

After the match, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala who played a superb innings to help Mohun Bagan win their 2nd trophy said, "I am very happy that my innings helped Mohun Bagan to win J.C. Mukherjee Trophy today. Actually, I had been getting a good start in the last few matches, but after that could not convert those to a big innings. We have already won 2 tournaments, still have chance to win 2 more, let's see, we will definitely try to win both."

Mohun Bagan captain Sanjib Sanyal said, "This is our 2nd trophy, we played good cricket today and excelled in all departments. I would request to all concerned people that from next year the cricket season should be over by 1st or 2nd week of May, so that we don't have to play in such condition. It is very tough to play in such hot and humid condition."

Spirited Debates
"With 12 MMB players returning from the ISL after an enriching experience, are the Mariners better equipped to challenge for the Fed Cup?"

Fans Think

100% For
0% Against
(72 photos)
(79 photos)


  • Azharuddin Mallick
  • Darryl Duffy
  • Ajay Singh
  • Simranjeet Singh


  • Pankaj Moula
  • Kean Lewis
  • Robinson Singh Khumukcham
  • Amandeep Singh
  • Sourav Das
  • Babul Biswas
  • Dhananjay Yadav
  • Raynier Fernandez
  • Tapan Maity
  • C. Lalremruata Ruata
  • Thangjam Saran Singh


  • Deepak Devrani
  • Sanjay Balmuchu
  • Sarthak Golui
  • Prabir Das
  • Raju Gaikwad
  • Tonmoy Ghosh
  • Avinabo Bag
  • Ashim Dey
  • Bikramjit Singh Jr
  • Chinta Chandrashekhar
  • Haroon Amiri
  • Daniel Bidemi


  • Monotosh Ghosh
  • Arnab Das Sharma
  • Shibinraj K
  • Agiapal Singh