The official website for Mohun Bagan Athletic Club.

The National Club of India

Keep up-to-date with all the news from the Mariners camp.

McDowell Mohun Bagan reach CAB Knockout Final

30-Dec, 2011
Kolkata , 14-Jun, 2011 :

McDowell Mohun Bagan cricket team has reached the final of the CAB Knockout Tournament after defeating Kalighat by 7 wickets. This is the 3rd consecutive final that Mariners have reached. Mohun Bagan has already won the A. N. Ghosh Trophy and J. C. Mukherjee 20/20 Tournament.
In the semi final match held today in Eden Gardens, Kalighat won the toss and elected to bat first. Due to a minor drizzle, the match was cut short by 1 over initially and both teams had to play 44 overs. However, Kalighat was bowled out in the 42nd over for 181. Md. Sami recorded the best bowling figure of 3/36. Sanjib Sanyal and Sultan Ahmed took 2 wickets each giving 23 and 30 runs respectively.

There was further rain which delayed the start of Mohun Bagan batting. The revised target for Mohun Bagan was set at 141 in 34 overs. Mohun Bagan scored the winning run (141/3) in 23.3 overs. Anustup Majumdar scored 66 off 58 balls, he batted for 96 minutes, while Priyankar Mukherjee scored 24 runs. Debabrata Das and Arindam Ghosh remained not out at 18 and 7 respectively.

In the final of the CAB Knockout Tournament, Mohun Bagan will meet East Bengal, probable date of the final match is June 20th. Already, Mohun Bagan has beaten East Bengal twice, once in A. N. Ghosh semi final and then clinched their 2nd trophy by beating their arch rivals in the final of J. C. Mukherjee 20/20 Tournament.
Spirited Debates
"With 12 MMB players returning from the ISL after an enriching experience, are the Mariners better equipped to challenge for the Fed Cup?"

Fans Think

100% For
0% Against
(72 photos)
(79 photos)


  • Azharuddin Mullick
  • Raja Das
  • Kean Lewis


  • Manish Bhargav
  • Katsumi Yusa
  • Ram Malik
  • Pankaj Moula
  • Adarsh Lama Tamang
  • Ujjal Howladar
  • Souvik Chakraborty
  • Tirthankar Sarkar
  • Lalkamal Bhowmick
  • Prakash Roy
  • Aayushmaan Chaturvedi
  • Asif Kottayil
  • Robinson Singh Khumukcham


  • Pritam Kotal
  • Shouvik Ghosh
  • Sukhen Dey
  • Suman Hazra
  • Sanjay Balmuchu
  • Gustavo Silva Conceicao
  • Safar Sardar
  • Prosenjit Pal
  • Judelin Aveska


  • Shilton Paul
  • Vinay Singh
  • Debjit Majumder
  • Saikat Das
  • Arnab Das Sharma