The official website for Mohun Bagan Athletic Club.

The National Club of India

Keep up-to-date with all the news from the Mariners camp.

Christopher joins practice and signs at the IFA office; IFA Shield to kick-off on 29th January

4-Dec, 2013
  • {filedir_1}1386187936781059.jpg
  • 1386188010614731.jpg

McDowell's Mohun Bagan's new foreign recruit Chizoba Christopher today joined practice at the club ground. Earlier on Tuesday, Harrison Eric Muranda was released after signing the Mutual Termination Agreement.

Mariners has roped in Nigerian striker Christopher from Peerless. In the ongoing Calcutta Football League Premier Division, while playing for Peerless, Christopher has scored 7 goals, including goals against McDowell's Mohun Bagan and Kingfisher East Bengal.

Since Chizoba Christopher has already played for Peerless, he will not be able to play for McDowell's Mohun Bagan in the Calcutta Football League; however, Mariners will get his service in the I league and Federation Cup.

Karim Bencherifa will likely use him from the next I league game itself, when Mariners lock horns with United Sports on the 6th of December, which will be played at the Salt Lake Stadium. Karim Bencherifa said, "Christopher looked match fit in today's training session. He has the experience of playing in various teams in Indian football and hopefully he will settle down quickly in our team."

Chizoba Christopher will be wearing Jersey No. 25 in this season.

Later on, in the afternoon, Chizoba Christopher went to the IFA office and signed in favour of McDowell's Mohun Bagan. So far, the 30 players whose signing has been complete at the IFA office are as follows: Odafa Okolie, Adil Khan, Rowilson Rodrigues, Katsumi Yusa, Wahid Sali, Sandip Nandy, Argha Chakraborty, Denson Devadas, Shilton Paul, Manish Bharghav, C. S. Sabeeth, Ravinder Singh, Kingshuk Debnath, Rana Gharami, Pankaj Moula, Ram Malik, Rajib Ghorui, Aiborlang Khongjee, Nicolau Borges, Monotosh Ghosh, Sankar Oraon, Anyichie Echezona, Adarsh Lama Tamang, Chizoba Christopher, Prakash Roy, Bengkok Nameirakpam, Pritam Kotal, Zakeer Mundampara, Shouvik Ghosh and Shaiju Mon.

Meanwhile, the 118th IFA Shield will likely kick-off on 29th January, 2014 and the probable date for the final is 11th February. A total number of 8 teams will participate in the tournament. They will be divided into 2 groups, with 4 teams playing against each other on a round-robin basis in each group. The top 2 teams from each group will participate in the semi final and the winners of the semi final matches will play in the final.

The Winner of the tournament will get a prize money of Rs. 25 lac along with the IFA Shield trophy, while the runners up team will get Rs. 15 lac. The semi final losers will get Rs. 5 lac each.

The player who will be declared as the "Man of the Match" in the group stage will get Rs. 5,000 whereas in the Knock out stage he will be getting Rs. 10,000.

Spirited Debates
"With 12 MMB players returning from the ISL after an enriching experience, are the Mariners better equipped to challenge for the Fed Cup?"

Fans Think

100% For
0% Against
(72 photos)
(79 photos)


  • Jeje Lalpekhlua
  • Balwant Singh
  • Azharuddin Mullick
  • Cornell Glen


  • Manish Bhargav
  • Katsumi Yusa
  • Ram Malik
  • Pankaj Moula
  • Adarsh Lama Tamang
  • Bikramjit Singh
  • Souvik Chakraborty
  • Tirthankar Sarkar
  • Lalkamal Bhowmick
  • Sony Norde
  • Kean Lewis
  • Robinson Singh Khumukcham
  • Lenny Rodrigues
  • Brandon Fernandes
  • Pronay Halder
  • Subhash Singh


  • Kinshuk Debnath
  • Pritam Kotal
  • Shouvik Ghosh
  • L Dhanachandra Singh
  • Suman Hazra
  • Sanjay Balmuchu
  • Sarthak Golui
  • Prabir Das
  • Raju Gaikwad
  • Luciano Sabrosa
  • Abhishek Das


  • Shilton Paul
  • Vinay Singh
  • Debjit Majumder
  • Arnab Das Sharma